You have NO Idea . . . well, neither do I.

Not all, but many of us post rides of 200 miles a week. It’s a lot of miles, and I am proud when I can get 200+ week. Although, I’ve already written about working hard on a bike does NOT mean a lot of miles. It’s WHAT you do IN the miles you ride. My schedule is fairly regimented. I’ve actually had other cyclists comment on my “sticking to the plan.” I ride, I cross train, I stretch, I rest well, and I eat correctly . . . as the above video shows . . . I have NO idea of the sacrifice of the top tier riders. Yes, I am aware they ride for a living and have the time to devote, but here’s the deal: Vince Lombardi once said, “A man didn’t get to the top of the mountain by falling there.” I am in awe of these athletes. I know that they put their bibs on one leg at a time, like I do, but they are a very special breed.

Call it what you want. It’s not secret that I am a Sagan fanatic. I’m not too partial to the terms bromance or man crush. It’s a bit much for me. Like I have written before, he’s extremely good for the sport. Who else would take the time to send some random American dude a signed picture, just because he asked? Notice the part in the video where he comments on fans; that alone is good enough to be a one. At such a young age, it seems that he’s very grounded and sure of his abilities AND limitations. Yes, I am excited that the season has started! Bring on the Classics and the Tours!

At this point in my life, I don’t care what people think of me. Okay, well, that’s not completely true. I want my wife to feel deeply loved, honored and protected and leave a strong legacy for my children and for them to know that, failures acknowledged, I did my absolute best as a dad. I am proud to call myself a Christian. I am proud of my country’s heritage. I am honored that I was able to serve my country in the military. I am proud that I went back late in life to earn my degrees and lift my family a little higher. I am humbled by the fact that I teach young minds who hold our future. And I thoroughly enjoy being a cyclist.

Bon Vélo!

 

7 thoughts on “You have NO Idea . . . well, neither do I.

  1. A genuine thanks for sharing these videos, I’ve just watched the two you posted and loved them both.. looking forward to seeing the rest of them now 🙂

Leave a Reply

