Cycology

dc0340957bb1224c3a5d8a0ded5e08c0Is it possible for pure talent to be hard work? Please don’t give me the “anything is possible” stuff. In my life, at best, I was mediocre talented in all of the sports I played. I had to work hard to accomplish things. Hard work transcends into all factors of life.

I discovered cycling later in life. I am in my mid-forties now and wish that I’d been spinning the pedals much longer than I have. As it stands, I ride with a w-i-d-e range of riders of talent and age. I consider myself age agnostic and don’t use my age as an excuse for not being able to hold someone’s wheel or climb with others. I train hard. Does that mean that I am unbeatable? Of course not! It means that when you do beat me you have EARNED it. I don’t lay down. I am not intimidated. The other day, laughing, friend of mine asked if I’d give Sagan a go. Of course I would! I’d get completely destroyed, but he’d know that I was there . . . at least for a second.

Most people who ride a bicycle  for any length of time are aware of how much pain absorption and mental toughness many cyclists possess. Quitting is not part of any cell in my body. Talking to non-riders, we get eye rolls and the shaking of heads for riding 78 miles one afternoon just because . . . uhhhmm . . .  we love it. I like working hard. I like consuming pain and a flood of joy for pushing myself to the absolute limit of what I can do . . . then going a little deeper. The will to fight is something that cannot be extinguished. Many use the excuse of winter to hibernate; then in the early spring, they are whining like a new born puppy.

This season I am considering racing in USA Cycling. As most of my readers know, I don’t just jump right into things. I have to research it and pray about it. Whether I decide to or not, I am preparing my fields for good crops. I enjoy the task. I love to ride. Yes, there are extremely talented riders out there, but I’ll give ’em a go.

Bon Vélo!

11 thoughts on “Cycology

  1. A good friend of mine once finished third in the Tour. He has not raced in years and we frequently ride together. I am no slouch on the bike and one day we were riding rather hard and I started to think that the real difference between us was that he started riding and racing in his teens while I started much later in life. Just as I was imagining what my life would have been like as a pro-cyclist he did something he had never done in all the years we had been riding together. He punched it. On a flat. And dropped me like a bad habit in a matter of seconds. I simply could not hold his wheel. On a flat. I then realized that no matter the training or the equipment I would have never been a pro.

  2. Brilliant post mate! Spot on too, the ability to absorb the suffering and the discipline of training serves not only cycling or sports, but survival skills. And in an ever-changing dangerous world of budding tyrannical governments and factions of terrorist, who knows what the immediate future will bring.

    But know this, guys and girls like us will have a better chance of surviving than the rest of those Mary’s (the one’s who roll their eyes at our 50 to 100 mile rides…)

    I say go for some racing, give it a try, you may get your ass kicked, you may surprise yourself and be in the top 10 or top 5 at some point. Serious competition has a way of forcing us to go beyond our limits- that we may have thought we exceeded on any club or training ride, because it is a specific moment in time that is fucking ferocious. You’re caught in a vortex of sight, sound and a massive effort beyond anything you have known (other than combat)

    I have been dead last, I have been top 10 and I have podiumed in both cycling (just once) and several times in motorbike racing. The full gambit. But each time, no matter where I had finished, I was pinned, redlined, giving all I had. The pain, the exhaustion, followed by the rush of exuberance is rivaled by nothing imo. Good luck in 2016 and keep us ‘posted’ lol…

Leave a Reply

