Star Wars

I waited for last night’s experience for quite some time. The Force Awakes is an EPIC movie for the Star Wars fan(atic) . . . no spoilers in this post, mind you. Since May of 1977, I have been hooked. I played with the beam of flashlights in a dark room and tried to move objects with my mind, using only my small outstretched hand. Being a Jedi had to be the coolest thing, as a little boy.

Fast forward to less than 24 hours ago, and I felt like a kid again. I explained in an earlier post how the Star Wars movies helped me as a child. Well, as I sat in the movie theatre surrounded by other fans, it all came back again with the appearance of Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, and the like. The power of a story to spur the imagination or take someone away from a place of discomfort is so powerful. I must admit that I was a bit concerned about JJ Abrams messing things up, like was done in 1999, 2002, and 2005 (not by him of course). All of that is now erased. The original characters were brought back to bolster the new characters for a new Star Wars generation. There was none of the “forget about that old Hans Solo guy and that bunch . . . here is Star Wars 2.0” with which to contend. From very small children to  . . . well, my age and older were captivated by the precision of the movie. Who gives a standing ovation at the end of a movie? We all did. It was that good. The young was introduced to our heroes of yesteryear, and we were introduced to the new heroes of today.

I can’t go on much more, without giving things away. The Force was awaked in me, last night. I remembered the imaginary world of my childhood and the absolute joy it brought me. Only a cyclist can explain why a dog hangs it head out of the window of a moving car, and I guess only a Star Wars fan could truly understand my post. All of this because something happened . . .

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away . . .

May the force be with you.

 

5 thoughts on “Star Wars

Leave a Reply

