Update: Ride to Provide

I actually meant to complete this ride alone, but it couldn’t have turned out better with a true definition of community: a friend, an educator, and a parent working together. The weather was forecast as terrible. I was planning on riding in any condition, but prayers went up. It turned out perfect: the skies were overcast, the wind was low and cool, with no rain.

This whole things started so that I could raise money for the high school library where I work. Budget cutbacks, federally and at the state level, have caused libraries to dwindle in resources. I’ve never organized anything like this before, but it was worth a shot. Three local TV news stations covered it, along with a few newspapers. It started out very slow, to say the least, but at this point we are just over $3000. My goal is $5000. I say is because it’s still ongoing. Just because the ride is over doesn’t mean that I’m giving up. I still have a few more emails to send and phone calls to make.

So with two support vehicles book-ending our three-man team, we headed out to take the message to the state capitol. I attempted many times to get in touch with our local state representatives, lieutenant governor, and governor to meet us at the finish line but to no avail. The teachers, administrators, ad kids at the school signed a banner to show support. With the banner in the support vehicle and a cooler of Cera Sport drink and bananas and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, we took off.

The ride was without a hitch . . . well, sort of. Having mapped the ride on Google and trying to take in consideration the traffic, road condition, distance, et al., we came to a road closed sign on one of our county roads. Jared, our mechanic, was on it. He found a way around on his phone, although I believe we have a good idea now how it feels to ride a small section of Paris-Roubaix! Side note: (some of you will understand this completely) I thought was it was really cool to throw my hand up and one of our vehicles pull up and chat with me as we rode. Secretly, I wanted to ask Jared to hang out the window and give me a saddle adjustment while I rode. Like I said, some of you will get it and some of you won’t. Don’t worry. I didn’t ask. You might also wonder about having two vehicles. Well, one is for safety on some dangerous roads and the other was that we had more riders scheduled to show up. The picture at the start of the post is of our team who made the 92 mile journey and the signed banner.

All-in-all, I am so happy the way it turned out. So if you have made it this far in the post without giving up on me, you knew it was coming. Please consider donating to this cause. We are a rural high school library in Alabama. I give you my word that all of the money will go toward new books and printer ink for our students. If you’ve already given or cannot donate right now, just forward my link on your Facebook to get the word out for one more shot at our goal. Here it is again: Go Fund Me. It is also on our high school webpage: Russell County High School.

Thank you to those who already gave and supported us!

Bon Vélo!

4 thoughts on “Update: Ride to Provide

      1. Glad I could help out a bit…I love seeing the passion you have to give the children in your school what they need to get a great education. Keep it up my friend!

Leave a Reply

