My Little Tiny Insignificant Two-cents on Steve Spurrier

This post is not about football. One of the most ridiculous decisions in college football, to date, is Steve Spurrier leaving Florida for the NFL. Someone said that he had to at least try. Well, all he had to do was think about it for longer than two seconds: That particular coaching style of intimidation would never work on grown men who make more money than he does. The bad decision resulted in Steve Spurrier going to South Carolina.

Disclaimer: I could care less what Spurrier does or where he goes from here. This about something deeper. I will to focus on “the old ball coach” making another ridiculous decision to “retire” in the middle of this football season. For the love of all things holy, ESPN and other sports channels aired all kinds of tributes to the coach, as if he had just died . . . Steve Spurrier’s face floating over a football field. Give me a break! What I cannot understand is why he’s being hailed as some kind of hero. He’s far from that. Spurrier stated that it would actually help the program if he left, better for recruiting and the like. Sorry, Coach, that is not the reason. He was being embarrassed by his own South Carolina program and his “legacy” was being tarnished even further. So what does this “legendary” coach do? One word for it: QUIT. Call it what you want to call it, but Steve Spurrier QUIT on his team. Yes, the “leader” gave up and walked away. What about the players he recruited who put their trust in him and the players’ families who believed that he would do what is best for their son? I know the answer: he QUIT them.

In our country, there has been a growing trend. People’s promise and/or their word isn’t good anymore. In days gone by, when you gave someone your word, it was a bond. Now, not only do we have a problem with high school recruits backing out of their “commitment,” we have coaches doing the same thing. I am only one person, but the trend must STOP. This is running rampant, even out of the sports world. Marriage tough? Quit. College class too hard? Quit. Your children driving you crazy? Quit. Your job a bit difficult? Quit. Can’t lose weight? Quit. Cancer treatment too tough? Quit . . . and on and on and on.

Quitting is the easy way out of anything. For me, it is not in my DNA. I have never quit anything in my life. I can’t even fathom quitting. I rode my bike in a century in the mountains of North Georgia with a severe chest infection because I could not stand the thought of my family thinking that I would quit anything that I started. I know that is a bit extreme, but it’s true. As adults, we are examples to the younger generation . . . and, for that matter, each other. Some of my favorite inspirational stories are those of people who persevere in the face of tremendous odds, such as defenders of our country who earned The Medal of Honor, parents who gave everything to see the success of their children, donors who give vital organs to help complete strangers, cyclists pedaling grueling stages in the European mountains, teachers who give their lives to defend a child from a shooter, blind marathon runners, and the like . . . but you go ahead and quit, Mr. Spurrier. I’m sure it was tough on you.

Leave a Reply

