Rolling with My Son

At the start . . .

We talked it over, and my son thought it would be a good idea for him to start with a metric century as his first official ride. Of course, I was all in . . . no matter what he wanted to do. I couldn’t even hardly sleep the night before, just thinking about us riding together. He’s fairly new into cycling, so we chose the All You Can Eat in Huntsville, Alabama! He convinced a few more friends to do it with us, and this past Saturday morning we were off and on the move. I have written a post before on this century. It is my favorite out of all of the sportives I do all year. They cover all of the bases and assure that all riders are safe and fed and hydrated. So needless to say, I was happy that this was the first official one for Justin. WP_20150919_003[1]

At the line, numbers 443 and 444 were ready! We were not there to hammer. We were there to enjoy the sport and fellowship with others. I didn’t care if it took three days for us to finish the 65 miles. I was riding with Justin, a man whom I am so proud to call my son. I’ve watched him play sports all of his life and accomplish things academically, and now professionally, that astound me. He lives over four hours away from us now, and every moment I get to spend with him is precious. The transition from authoritarian to adviser is a difficult one, to say the least, but it’s something that isn’t quite so hard with our two.

Our crew

The day couldn’t have been ordered at a Sonic drive-thru any better than Saturday morning. The temperature was in the mid-60s at the start, with a gentle breeze. At 8 o’clock, hundreds of cyclists rolled into the hilly land of North Alabama. The trees are just beginning to turn in this part of the state but are still full enough to cast long, cool shadows over the road. The sun peaked in and out from behind huge, white clouds, but the temperature just right. I felt bathed in the warmth of God’s blessings.

Fini!

Our group had a mixture of skill levels, but it was no matter. We all took care of each other and made sure that we were fall having fun. Of course, All You Can Eat has stellar food and hydration stations; and, although we skipped the first one, we partook of the rest! The day was completely amazing. We even ended up riding 3:48 for the 65 miles! This is a day that will be filed away in my memories, to be retrieved quite often, with hopes to add many more.

2 thoughts on “Rolling with My Son

Leave a Reply

