Encouragement and Motivation

Sometimes we need to be motivated to get out and do any type of exercise. What makes us do something that is exerting over something that is relaxing? Well, for me, I enjoy it. Exerting myself is relaxing . . . sometimes; then there are days when . . . well, meh. Those are they are the days when encouragement is a key factor.

Yesterday, it was raining. Wind was howling. I had 1-mile sprint intervals on the schedule and was thinking about using the weather as an excuse and hopping on my trainer. I had already told another rider I was meeting him to train on intervals. It was set. As I sat in my truck with the wind and rain pushing on my windows, my cell phone began to churp. It was the other guy.

“Yello?” I said, purposely sounding more chipper than I felt.

“Hey man,” he said. “Is this gonna slack?”

“Nope,” I replied. “It’s suppose to stay pretty steady.”

He took a breath. “Ok . . . I’ll see you in a minute.”

We got our bikes ready in a steady drizzle of rain, making sure our tire pressure was a little less than usual. To make matters a little worse, I had brought my Cervelo to this messy dance and had no way of changing to my other bike. The princess bike was gonna have to get dirty. Oh well.

The ride went off without a hitch. It was wet and dirty. After it was over and we were back at the parking lot, it appeared as though we had ridden Paris-Roubaix. I felt excellent though. I felt more accomplished, having braved the elements and stuck to my plan than the days I ride longer distances in nice weather. It was the fact that the roads were deserted of riders. No one but my friend and I were riding. Stupid? Maybe, but I remember when I was in the Army my drill sergeant saying, “If ain’t raining, it really ain’t training!” Why’s that? Because you chose to be out there when most people choose not to. You’re getting better. My friend and I discussed this as we loaded our bikes to leave. He stated that he probably wouldn’t have ridden if he knew that I wasn’t waiting on him to ride. Encouraging each other is sometimes just holding each other accountable. The little push that goes so far.

Bon Velo!

4 thoughts on “Encouragement and Motivation

Leave a Reply

