Though She be but Little . . .

26 Years
26 Years

Tammy and I just celebrated our 26th year of marriage. I am so blessed to have her in my life. Society often throws the word soulmate around, only to allow computers and/or dating services to find that one person on earth who is truly the one who completes them. I know, without a doubt, that God placed Tammy into my life. I have written about it before, and as long as I blog I will always write about it around this time of year. Please allow me to explain.

When I met Tammy in the hall way of our high school, I was an idiot in many ways. I cared about very little, mainly sports and date as many girls as I could find to prove something to everyone else. I came from a very good family and raised to do what is right. My parents loved me tremendously and supported me and my sister, but I had a lot of things I carried that caused me to struggle with anger and doubt; and, in truth, I was a scared punk trying to be tough. After I met Tammy I knew something was different. She was focused and driven and wanted more out of life than I thought was possible. All I knew was that she was unbelievably gorgeous and wanted something to do with me. She was shy and kept to herself, but don’t make the mistake of thinking she’s weak or easily manipulated. Do that, and you will quickly learn what William Shakespeare wrote about when he stated: Though she be but little, she is fierce!

Tammy is from a small speck of earth called Vigo, Alabama. She lived out in the country and took care of the house while both of her parents worked very hard to provide for the family. I was in awe of her, the first time I was invited to her house. Her grades were excellent. She managed to cook and clean and take care of her brother, all of this while practicing and competing in the high school marching band and keeping herself absolutely beautiful. What kind of girl is this? Being the teenager I was, all I knew was that is was the difference that I needed in my life. I had no idea why. But God did.

My parents had prayed for my and my sister’s partners every since we were children, just I do now for my children. I truly cannot wait until the day I know without a doubt that they have met their mate and tell that man or woman that it is finally nice to meet the person whom I have been praying for all of these years. But I digress. When Tammy and I talk about our past and the things that lead us to one another, I know without a doubt that she was and is the one. It is utterly amazing. Like I have written before, I am still in awe of her. She is brilliant, beautiful, and strong in spirit . . . and being a CrossFitter, she is strong physically as well. I look forward to our future. Many cannot say that, but I am genuinely excited. We have so many plans, and I would not want to complete any of them with anyone except her.

7 thoughts on “Though She be but Little . . .

Leave a Reply

