There are Two Parts to This

I love learning various tips from the professional riders. This is a great video on Contador’s style. I tend to agree with the way he climbs. I am a seated climber too and only stand to spin back up or when attacking. The cranksets used by Contador is interesting, even though I noticed that he didn’t mention the cassette. Yes, the crank is an essential part of the whole system, but I though it was worth mentioning when I found a picture of Contador’s cassette:

Running a cassette at 32 is a nice advantage too on a long and high grade climb. Being able to switch out the rear tire before entering a big climb because of a “flat” is just another nice advantage of a professional with options. I’m not saying that there is anything wrong with that, but it’s worth mentioning.

At this point, may I allow my thoughts to wander aloud? Hear me when I say this: I am NOT tying the size of anyone’s cassette and cheating with an equivalent to doping . . . more of an addition to. In relation to Alberto Contador, am I the only one that can’t let the past be the past? “He served his time” is one of the replies that I will get. I know that I should let things go, but cheaters are a difficult thing for me to erase from my hard drive. I have no idea what kind of man Alberto is and will more than likely never meet him, but it sticks. Let’s just say that Lance Armstrong was just now turing 31 years old and finished serving a two or three year suspension. Would he return to open European arms? Everyone has flaws. God knows I have a ton, but it just rubs me the wrong way.

What say you?

6 thoughts on “There are Two Parts to This

  1. I think that he should be banned. There’s no smoke without fire and he has done much to damage the reputation of pro cycling

  2. His mention of Pantani also made me chuckle! 😉 Hmmmm. I’ve never been much of a fan of Contador since the whole tainted steaks incident and his pistol celebrations just annoy me, but his antics in this video did make me warm to him just a little. Loved that last bit where he was just toying with Matt up the climb!

Leave a Reply

