No Coasting

How many excuses can we find? To be honest, for me it is a battle every day in the colder months. The clouds seem as though they can be touched using a step ladder. The wind carries energy draining dampness in it. All of this make me more groggy and lethargic. The key to working while others are lounging is asking myself just how soft I am. I am NOT soft!  . . . then get your butt in gear. A famous athlete once said:

I hated every minute of training, but I said, ‘Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.’

Now that I am in my mid-forties, I often remind myself that today is the youngest I’ll ever be for the rest of my life. I want to take advantage of the days and enjoy my health, not waste my time, my mind, or my body. True athletes are equipped with an inner coach. There is a drive inside of us that cannot be explained. We have something to prove, a goal to reach, a ghost to chase, an edge to gain. Yes, there variants to athletes in any sport, but being the best that you can be without comparison to others is all that should be asked. I will never ride like a UCI rider, but I can reach as far as my body and my abilities will allow me.

The best training program in the world is absolutely worthless without the will to execute it properly, consistently, and with intensity. –John Romaniello

I am told by people, quit often, that I act like I’m working to win a gold metal in the Olympics. Now, understand that this is said by most people who have a very high BMI, and therefore don’t understand the process anyway. No, I reply, I am not trying to win a medal. I’m just trying to be the best me I can be. I have a huge problem with people who are given the gift of life and abilities and waste them. I just can’t wrap my brain around it.

So, today, as clouds roll outside my office window and the wind bends the tree limbs, excuses will surface. I must set my course early and not deviate. While others are resting, I will be working harder and harder to be the best I can be.

 

 

5 thoughts on “No Coasting

  1. Amen brother! Well written – but I think it’s quite simple, too… When we hit our age, that’s really how hard we have to exercise to A) stay fit, fantastic and fast AND B) keep that BMI in check. Excellent post my friend.

  2. Excellent post! While others got home from work this afternoon to sit on the couch with coffee and a slice of cake, I dragged myself to the turbo trainer and smashed out some threshold work. For most of us it’s not about winning gold medals or even winning local races, it’s about being the absolute best we can be at something! Oh yeah and trying to look good in the process… 😉

Leave a Reply

