Entering the Red Zone on a Trainer

For those who are so-so cyclists and/or do it mainly to hang out and have the coolest or latest ride, this post is probably not for you. I have been working hard to find a work out that would benefit my “off season” routine, when doing strength training and spending time on my fluid trainer. Here’s a run down of my workout and what I have just encountered today:

OCTOBER

CrossFit: 3-4 times a week, spending a good amount of time on various core routines with a massive amount of front squats, rear squats, snatches, thrusters, deadlifts, and kettle bell work. The majority of the weight I’m using is just heavy enough to get deep into the tissue, mainly focusing on fast twitch muscle tissue in my quads, hamstrings, glutes, and calves. At the same time, I’m doing a fair amount of sprints with other varied cardio work.

Stationary bike: 3x a week (normally days not at CrossFit), a medium cadence warm up for 15 minutes that ramps up to 90+ cadence for 30 seconds with a 60 second easy spin then a 90+ cadence for 60 seconds with a 60 second easy spin then a 90+ cadence for 90 seconds with a 60 second easy spin. This continues until I reach a three minute interval, and then it’s a cycle back down. Cool down is 15 minutes.

NOVEMBER/DECEMBER

CrossFit: stays the same

Stationary Bike: Moving into an endurance phase with a moderate cadence of 85-95 rpm, I start with a 15 minutes warm up (around 70 rpm), transitioning to a 12 minute above 90+ rpm ride and ending with a 3 minute easy spin cool down.

JANUARY

CrossFit: WODS stay the same with an increase in cardio, focusing on deeper endurance.

HERE’S WHERE IT GETS REAL!

Stationary Bike: Speed work with all out sprints (10) of 20 seconds in the highest gear that I can hold for 115-120 rpm. In between the 20 second sprints, easy spin for 5 minutes. The first three or maybe four sprints are fairly easy with the 5 minutes in-between . . . then it keeps going. Into the fifth, sixth, seventh . . . the pain at holding 120 rpm is difficult to say the least. 10 minute cool down.

 

It is strange that I’ve spent so much time on a trainer over the years and am just now learning how to enter the red; up to this point, it appears that I’ve been wasting my time. I now truly feel that this will be a different year on the bike. I’m excited to see the results. I know this is going to help me be better than I’ve ever been. I have a race on February 14th and have the date circled in RED.

 

8 thoughts on “Entering the Red Zone on a Trainer

  1. I doubt you’ve been wasting your time, you just haven’t worked as hard as you could have been. Wasting your time would have been polishing the couch with your butt.

  2. What Jim said.

    I find cycling and especially the “trying to get better at it” bit is a continual journey of discovery. Things seem to pop up and make sense at certain times when you are ready for them.

Leave a Reply

