Merry Christmas?

It is always this time of year when we are caught up in figuring what to get someone for the holiday season, and it can be a bit stressful. As many of you know, I work in a public school in a poorer area of town. One of my sweet aides the other day, told me how excited he was for Christmas, and naturally I asked what he was requesting from the Big Guy. Clinching his hands together, he said that really hopes for a compass. Yes, you read correctly. He wants a compass. . . no, not an Xbox or a motorcycle or a television, just a compass. My heart was moved to say the least.

To me it is unthinkable that a child would wake up on Christmas morning with nothing to open. I know that it’s not about that, but I think about when one of those children hear “merry Christmas” if he/she already has a good idea that it won’t happen. The joy of childhood is having those special memories, although many children have nothing to recall that is special about Christmas or any holiday for that matter. Sure, my wife and I buy presents for a needy child through the church, but there are so many . . . so, so many.

Although it is hard not to focus on our selves and our own family during this time of year, we really need to look beyond and help others. Yep, I know what you’re thinking. Yes, there are families who ask for help who then use their own money for drugs or whatever. I have even (when I use to be a police officer) experienced “parents” taking donated gifts for their children and refunding the toys for cash. I, personally, cannot focus on what might happen. I have to know that I am at least trying to make a difference in a child’s life.

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas?

  1. Reminds me of last year in Santa’s grotto. My youngest (6 at the time), when asked by the big guy what he wanted returned the question with, “a wooden cricket bat”. Bless! My heart melted. Santa was a bit lost for words, obviously used to listening to requests for multimedia this and multimedia that & was a little lost for words such was his surprise. This evening, disappointingly it was an XBOX-hopefully he’ll provide a voucher to redeem for CWC2015 when it’s released early next year…can I play that while I’m on the turbo trainer?

  2. I loved your post.
    We try and do our bit by giving to the Salvos so others who might not enjoy Christmas can. It is unfortunately just a drop in the ocean.
    Would you mind if I linked your post to my Posts I Like section.

Leave a Reply

