The Message on Massage

www.telegraph.uk.co
http://www.telegraph.uk.co

Tracy asked me what area that I needed covered the most. I was getting the deep tissue sports massage. She looked over the forms I filled out. “You’re a biker?” I smiled. After all, it’s not the first time it has been asked. “No,” I answered. “I am a cyclist.”  She knew what I meant. And so it began.

As a cyclist, if you have not received a massage to knead out tired muscles and clear out built up toxins, you are missing out on a very important part of staying in peak performance. One of the key parts of a massage is making sure that you drink plenty of water after the massage is over, an important part of flushing the toxins out. Deep tissue is not a feel-good massage. The average person will need a couple of days to get over grinding and twisting of the muscle tissue. The interstitial spaces between muscle fibers are forced apart, allowing oxygenated blood and much needed nutrients to penetrate. Better blow flow=better recovery=better performance.

As my massage came to a close, Tracy reminded me to drink up. I plan on making this part of my routine at least once a month. I have had them before, but not routine enough to see a difference in my riding. Yeah, it has a cost that adds to all of the other cycling things, but I am convinced that it will benefit me in the long run . . . er, ride.

2 thoughts on “The Message on Massage

Leave a Reply

