Riding the Chattahoochee and There Abouts

Cool wind and warm sunshine. It is like fuel. My outdoor miles are increasing, and the trainer is fading away. The repetition of a trainer can become almost as bad as riding the same route all of the time. Cyclist take for granted all of the beauty around them and miss the forest for the trees. It never ceases to amaze me how much I am in awe of where people have the opportunity to ride. I look at the grandeur of where Northern Bike gets to ride, not to mention Biking and Babbling and others, including the ridiculously great pictures of France in ICI & LA NATURE PICTURES. Even other cyclists that I follow, who ride in Colorado, California, and the east coast, have taken some incredible pictures of their routes.

Living on the Georgia/Alabama line, I prefer to go over the bridge into Columbus, Georgia and ride The River Walk. Yesterday, I was doing some sprint intervals on this route and stopped to notice things around me. Part of cycling is feeling alive and noticing things that others don’t . . . that is why so many cyclist post some great pictures. I am no photographer. I do love being outside and taking part in what I have been blessed to have the ability to do. Many people cannot, because of a disability or whatever the reason. I have vowed that I will ride until I can’t anymore. I have also vowed to enjoy what is around me more. Yes, I will, without a doubt, ride in England, France, and surrounding areas one day. I will converse in French with French people as I ride through small villages and back roads. I have already relayed in previous posts how I that is on my “bucket” list. But I must not take for granted for what is around me and where I ride. Heck, I probably have the best weather of anyone . . . except for the heart of summer where temperatures can reach 100 degrees Fahrenheit or more (38 Celsius for my European friends).

The Mighty Chattahoochee River
The Mighty Chattahoochee River

I ride most days right beside the Chattahoochee River (Native American meaning “River of Rocks”). It costs me nothing. There are no dues. The city of Columbus provides a wonderful place for people to enjoy nature and exercise safely. Millions have been invested into cleaning the river and building a white water section that moves through the city (the largest urban white water park in the world). The River Walk stretches out in two sections. Being a repurposed railway, the trail is blacktopped and lined and generally very smooth, shaded, with very little traffic in the way of pedestrians or other cyclists. One section runs by the Chattahoochee for around 16 miles, and the other is located in the northern part of Columbus and heads toward Pine Mountain for around 15 miles. The two are connected, but it is not a straight shot.

Riding Near My Parents' Home
Riding Near My Parents’ Home

On days that I want a different look, I ride near my parents’ house on the Alabama side of the river. Because of the river there are many streams that reach out, making lakes and ponds. Dams have been put into place for energy production and flood prevention. These dams also serve a great purpose in adjusting the classifications of the white water rapids in Columbus. On the Alabama side, I get frustrated with drivers who shoot by me, barely missing me, but reading others’ blogs it doesn’t really change from place to place. All-in-all, I am blessed with great places to ride. Sure, I want to experience different places and people, but it will come. Being content in my abilities and placement in this world is the key to riding happy.

9 thoughts on “Riding the Chattahoochee and There Abouts

  1. If you haven’t experienced it yet, North Carolina (Lake Nantahala specifically) has some fantastic cycling – the local motorists are phenomenal toward cyclists. I ride in a great cycling town but they’re next level awesome there. Check out Aaron West’s site (Google “steep climbs”) for some fantastic places just to the north east of you. Great post man and I couldn’t agree more. You’re right on.

      1. If you’re up for a bigger challenge you might try the 65 mile Quabbin Reservoir loop. Bigger hills, very scenic country side but with minimal views of the reservoir. Wachusett Reservoir has more water views.

Leave a Reply

