That Guy

Ragtime Cyclist has great blogs that he puts out, from time to time, on biking behavior. It has amazed me how countries, race, language, and/or massive bodies of water do not affect how cycling groups behave. We are so similar that it is scary. Not trying to move in on Ragtime’s area, but I have noticed something . . . very, very irritating.

torontoist.com
torontoist.com

An Unwritten Rule can be defined as a rule, usually concerning social behavior, which is known by all but spoken by none. When I finished my 142 km ride yesterday, I was aggravated. This is the second time I’ve been aggravated on my Sunday group ride. There is a guy in the group who seems to be professor emeritus of the Unwritten Rule. Here’s an example dialogue, during the ride I blogged about on March 4th, as we stopped at an intersection:

“Hey, man, you broke an unwritten rule,” said he.

Exhausted, I replied, “Do what?”

“Yeah, I had pulled us within striking distance of the main group, and when you took over, you pulled away like you were making the jump solo.”

Really too tired to talk, but being nice, I explained, “I’m really burnt, man. I’m not worried about bridging a gap. I’m struggling.”

At that point, I took a shorter route back and rode solo. The guy later called to apologize for “calling me out” in front of everyone. I told him that I didn’t take it that way and to let it go.

Fast forward to being aggravated yesterday . . . I was riding strong. I felt good. I pulled the majority of the day and happy about being in the opposite position that I was in on March 4th. In the final few miles, the guy rode directly behind me in the pace line. I had been pulling for a while and had to adjust myself in the saddle, but I felt no need to fall back. I am well aware that when pulling a cyclist is suppose to continuously pedal. During my scoot back on the saddle and waiting to do so during a descent, I hear a voice in the wind:

“Hey, Scotty, make sure that you always pedal in a pull.”

I had no response. I consider that strike two for him. The next time, I am going to give our in-house professional cyclist a piece of my mind. He’s really not a bad guy. He’s very nice and seems to mean well, but I didn’t start riding yesterday. I won’t have to look hard for subject matter . . . the same guy fits into another category that I will soon blog about, if Ragtime doesn’t get there first.

7 thoughts on “That Guy

  1. I know the type, but happily not very well, since I don’t do many group rides. Hard to avoid them, though. If they don’t get their quota of ‘educating others’ on rides, they show up on social media to dis your last Strava ride!

  2. Brother, I am so lucky that we don’t have any of those douches in our group. Dealing with seasoned cyclists is a delicate thing. I almost got wiped out by the German National Champ in a century ride last year – come to think of it, the guy that got me probably just raided the champ’s clothing drawer… He rode his bike like $#!+ LOL!

  3. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having
    a tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic
    but I had to ask!

    1. I just looked through all of the FREE layouts and picked that one. There are really cool ones that you have to pay for, but I’m not willing to do that yet. I really like WordPress. I’ve had others, but this one is pretty good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

